Guide Me, Niyamas

February 11, 2019

The Niyamas are yoga practices that bring us in alignment with our highest selves. They are guidelines, along with the Yamas on the Eight-Fold path of yoga, that show us the way to experience our humanity as spiritual beings.

Guide Me, Niyamas l Mukha Yoga

If we “live” our yoga respecting these ethical and moral rules, our inner universe transforms as we develop awareness around how our lives are affected by the actions we choose. The Yamas are restraints, or simply habits that don’t serve us, and the Niyamas affect the relationship we have with ourselves at a core level and how we feel at the end of the day.

The Niyamas are described as follows. Saucha is purity: the act of cleansing our mind, our thoughts, and our bodies. Santosha is cultivating an attitude of contentment, or letting things be in a space of gratitude and acceptance. Tapas is the Niyama of transformation by applying “heat’ in self-discipline and strength of character. Svadhyaya, self-study, is the journey of knowing ourselves and the invitation to let go of our “stories” that shadow truth. Ishvara Pranidhana is the opening of our heart with faith, surrendering to our Divine nature and flowing in the river of wellbeing.

Yoga brings us more awareness of not only what’s happening within our bodies, but also what’s happening with our thoughts. When I follow the guidelines of the Niyamas and incorporate them into my daily life, I experience a constant peeling away of layers of illusion and delusion. Turbulence and drama lessen as I consciously choose how I act and how I handle my fears, insecurities and anger.

Over time, gently and lovingly, the practice of the Niyamas evolves into mindful living and living well!

Julie Bertagna l Mukha YogaBy Julie Bertagna; All Rights Reserved @2019

Also in The Community Hub

5 Ways to Thrive During the Pandemic

October 20, 2020

Read More
Yoga Medicine for the Throat Chakra

October 19, 2020

Read More
Clarifying Purpose

October 14, 2020

Read More