Yoga Medicine for the Sacral Chakra

July 21, 2020

The sacral chakra is the second of seven chakras in the body and is located between the navel and the pubic bone. In Sanskrit, it is referred to as Svadhistana, which roughly translates as the “the seat of the self”.

Sacred Chakra l Mukha Yoga

Physically, the chakra relates to your urogenital organs, lower back, and hips. So with a blocked sacral chakra, you may experience ailments around these areas. Our body stores trauma, with hips taking on a large load of the burden of micro-stresses, prolonged sitting, and even sexual trauma.

Emotionally, the sacral chakra is associated with creativity, self-expression, and sexuality. Many experience a rush of emotions when balancing the sacral chakra. Try to observe what comes up non-judgmentally and allow the emotions to flow. Balancing the sacral chakra allows for guiltless joy, the embrace of passion and playfulness, and the creation of beauty and healing change.

Through each of these poses, envision an orange light at your sacrum:

  • Flow between Forward Fold, Wide-legged Forward Fold, Triangle, and Revolved Triangle to encourage the free flow of energy through your sacrum. These poses are excellent for releasing your side hips and massaging your internal organs.
  • Goddess pose and Twisted Goddess pose are great for welcoming the feminine (yes, for men too!), while toning the lower body, building heat, and stimulating your organs and pelvic floor. Try to stay in each pose for at least five breathes, inviting soft movement.
  • Bridge is a great therapeutic backbend. For added support, you may rest your sacrum onto a block. For a variation, extend one leg at a time.
  • For healing hip openers, choose between Frog pose, Child’s pose, Pigeon, and Double Pigeon. Take your time here, allowing your breath to be your guide.
  • Affirmations to use for meditation: I am beautiful… I am loved… I am worthy… I allow my emotions to flow through me in a healthy way… I allow love to flow in... I allow passion to overflow...

The sacral chakra is associated with water, so do drink lots of water to cleanse and encourage the healthy flow of chi after your practice.


Hannah Parks l Mukha Yoga
By Hannah Parks; All Rights Reserved @2020

Hannah Parks l Mukha Yoga By Hannah Parks; All Rights Reserved @2020

Also in The Community Hub

Vegan Rice Paper Spring Rolls

April 09, 2021

Welcome crisp cucumber! Hail watercress. Come hither, moxie little multicolored carrots. Let’s crash the farmer’s market and gain traction on a rollable salad. No forks are necessary for this recipe.
Read More
Symbol Stories: Mandalas

April 06, 2021

The circular ornamentation represents the universe and its interconnected metaphors.
Read More
Root to Rise

April 05, 2021

If you’ve participated in a yoga class—in-person or even online—a teacher’s phrase “root to rise” echoes.
Read More